Fancy Number Train – 12345 Saraighat Express : VIDEO

Enjoy watching the 24 Coach Saraighat Express hauled by a brand new WDP4D from New Guwahati Diesel Shed, climbing the 180°degree Khana Ramp and negotiating a beautiful semicircle curve as it heads towards Shantiniketan.

All Trains bound to North East diverge from the main line at Khana Jn. and take this 180° ramp towards Malda. Saraighat Express is a daily Superfast train which runs between Howrah – Guwahati operated by Eastern Railways and is one of the most preferred trains to travel between the two cities.

The train is named after the Battle of Saraighat fought in 1671,where the Mughals were defeated by Ahom rulers of Assam.

Video – The Railzone.

The train has 11 halts between Howrah and Guwahati :
Barddhaman Jn – Bolpur Shantiniketan – Rampurhat Jn – New Farakka Jn – Malda Town – KishanGanj – New Jalpaiguri –
New Cooch Behar – New Alipurduar – New Bongaigaon Jn – Kamakhya Jn.

Train : 12345 Howrah – Guwahati ~Saraighat Express
Locomotive : NEW GUWAHATI (NGC) WDP4D 40603
Location : Khana Junction Railway Station.

The train belongs to Eastern Railway’s zone of Indian Railway, headquartered at Howrah.

  • 12346 – leaves Guwahati daily at 12:20 pm IST and reaches Howrah Junction the next morning 5:20 am IST.
  • 12345 – leaves Howrah Junction daily at 3:50 pm IST and reaches Guwahati the next morning 10:05 am IST