Tourist Visa on Arrival in India

India is an incredible country and to make tourists from different countries visit it easily, the Indian Government is putting efforts to make the process convenient. Currently there are 75 countries that are eligible for Indian Tourist Visa on Arrival, and more countries are to be added soon. Entry for applicants is eligible from nine selective international airports of India. Another important thing to be noted is that the applicants must apply for Tourist Visa on Arrival of India from their respective countries prior thirty to five days of landing to India. The page would assist you with all information regarding the Indian Tourist Visa on Arrival.

Who can apply for Electronic Tourist Visa (Visa on arrival) for India?

You are eligible for Tourist Visa on Arrival if you are a resident of any of these 75 countries- Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Cayman Island,Chile, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Myanmar, Nauru, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niue Island, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Republic of Macedonia, Russia, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Tonga, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, USA, Vanuatu, Vatican City-Holy See, Vietnam.

Process of enabling the residents of some other countries is also in process and shall be announced soon.

What is the fee for Tourist Visa on Arrival of India?

The visa fee for Indian Visa on Arrival is $60. This amount is non-refundable and needs to be paid at least three days prior the date of arrival in the country.

Validity of the Indian Tourist Visa on Arrival

The tourist visa of arrival of India is valid for 30 days from the date of approval. This validity cannot be converted or extended. However, if you want you can apply for the visa twice per year.

How to know if you are eligible to apply for tourist visa on arrival?

*You are a resident of a foreign country visiting India solely for sightseeing, recreations, meeting relatives or friends, medical treatment (for short duration) or casual business visit.

*The validity of your passport shall be at least six months. You must have your confirmed tickets for return or onward journey.

*Only people with separate passports can apply. The visa in unavailable for those who endorse on spouse’s/parent’s passport.


Who is not eligible to apply for Indian Tourist Visa on Arrival?

*Someone with Pakistani origin or holding a Pakistani passport. (In the case, apply for regular visa at Indian Mission).

*Someone holding a diplomatic or official passport.

*The service is unavailable for international documents holder.

How to apply for Indian Tourist Visa on Arrival if someone is eligible?

*The application for Indian Tourist Visa on Arrival needs to be done between thirty and five days prior the arrival date in the country. Read more to know about the procedure of the same.

*Visit the official site of Indian Government’s tourism department and apply. Fill in the form with basic details and upload your photograph along with the first page of your passport.

*Pay the visa fees online via debit card or credit card. (the fee for the same is $60 per person).

*You will receive ETA on your mail id which shall be downloaded and printed. This is an important document.

*As you arrive in India, present your ETA to the custom officers. There are nine international airports that can act as your gateway to India- Delhi, Kolkata, Chennai, Mumbai, Kochi, Goa, Bengaluru, Hyderabad and Thiruvananthapuram.

More information regarding Indian Tourist Visa on Arrival

If you wish to seek more information regarding the visa on arrival, you can send an email to [email protected] or call +91-11-24300666. You can also follow the link to visit the official site of Indian Government’s tourism department.